Q – What do I do when people want to exchange services instead of paying my fees with money?

Standard

FBeventheader

After writing this blog last week, I had 3 different people (who clearly had not been enlightened by this yet, come to me and offer to “barter” their services with me.
As much as I would LOVE to get services from all of my clients who are extremely talented – LISTEN UP!  Hear me out and please LISTEN CAREFULLY!
WE DO NOT BARTER and if you are my private client, I will STRONGLY ADVISE THAT YOU DO NOT DO IT EITHER!!!
Unless it is clear that you have absolutely NO MONEY for rent, groceries or ANYTHING YOU NEED, offering to BARTER with someone can actually be perceived as a SLAP IN THE FACE by one or both parties and even if they don’t, neither will value the other quite the same.
Think about it!  If you KNEW that I spent $500 on a service last month with someone to do something with my business and then I came to  you to “barter”, you would likely be insulted and believe that I didn’t think YOU were worth my heard earned money…  You never know….  Please READ and Please DO NOT BARTER…

I received  a GREAT question from a special reader today and because I get this question A LOT, and sadly, I see it HAPPEN A LOT, I wanted to share it with you…

Q – What do I do when people want to exchange services instead of paying my fees with money?

 
My ANSWER
If someone doesn’t buy from you and they say to you “I can’t afford it”… it’s typically for one of the two reasons I’m listing below.

1.  They don’t BELIEVE it will work for them

– OR-

2.  You have NOT done your job in showing them the VALUE of what you are offering… 

If someone wants to directly trade or exchange services, it’s because they are doing the same thing with their own business (and not VALUING what they do or provide to it’s fullest).
Note:  I am NOT referring to using a real service such as NUBARTER/REVENU that helps businesses move excess inventory which is a great way to market your business and preserve cash flow… which we are members of.
If you BOTH truly want what the other has to offer then some suggestions are:
  • Invoice each other true RETAIL-TO-RETAIL for the fees/services you are providing one another and whoever has a balance should pay the balance; happily!   Everyone should feel “whole” during this transaction.  Do not do this is one of you doesn’t REALLY want the product/service…
  • ENERGETICALLY (& probably legally – check with your CPA), the RIGHT thing to do is that each person write a check to the other for the correct value and never ever do an even trade.

WHY PEOPLE BUY

“People BUY based on the emotion of what they believe their result will be in the future by using your products or services!” – Shelley Mitchell
Coca Cola just put out a great commercial during the Super Bowl that made me want to go buy a COKE – even though I know darn well I need to avoid sugar like the plague.  See the video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibgvkXm9Qkc  #makeithappy Official Coca-Cola BIG GAME Commercial 2015 #makeItHappy
You will notice it’s the PAIN they show people going through that evokes the emotion to change.
 
HAPPY doesn’t sell, but the elimination of PAIN does sell!People BUY based on your CLEAR message that you understand THEIR PAINS and CHALLENGES and …
how you can show them the VALUE of WHY they should PAY YOU for your products/services based on the BENEFITS they believe they will receive.  Coke does a great job at showing you HOW their product stops the pain…  and all without even saying a word.Even though you KNOW what you do and HOW you help people, if you cannot communicate this CLEARLY to your ideal client, YOU are definitely struggling with getting MORE CLIENTS and making the MONEY you deserve.
So, what are you doing about this?Our entire coaching program helps you do this, but you can get one amazing day of creating this at our HIGH-ENERGY, Interactive Boot Camp at
SPEAK- SELL- SERVE, LIVE! is a SMALL PART of the DESTINED ENTREPRENEUR where we teach you exactly HOW to:
  • SPEAK clearly to ONE or MANY so they are CLEAR on how you understand their pains/challenges, and HOW can help them – quickly and effectively
  • SELL MORE through speaking and networking and to SHOW THE TRUE VALUE of what you offer so your ideal client will PAY YOU FOR YOUR SERVICES!
  • SERVE MORE CLIENTS! by understanding and with INTEGRITY…

Isn’t it time you learn to SPEAK in a way that gets you more CLIENTS and to make MORE MONEY?

Join me at the DESTINED ENTREPRENEUR – Business Transformation Experience & BRING A TEEN ENTREPRENEUR for FREE!

THE TIME IS NOW!  It’s time to have the FREEDOM you want to live your life they way you were meant to and finally have the business you LOVE!

BELIEVE – FOCUS – ACHIEVE!  Learn more about business in 3 days that you have in 3 years…  

the DESTINED entrepreneur – 3 Day Business Transformation Experience happens on March 27-29th.  BE THERE – so you can get back to being the creative genius you truly are!

www.destinedentrepreneur.com

It’s time to BELIEVE – FOCUS – ACHIEVE! at the DESTINED entrepreneur – business transformation experience!

Have a Fun, Fearless & FOCUSED Day!

 

Shelley Mitchell, BA, ACC, CPM, MORS

President/CEO (Author/Speaker/Coach) – My Personal Business Coach & My Personal ADHD Coach

Author of “Build My List! Build My Business! Build My Bank Account!”,Co-Author of More Ways To Succeed With ADHD, &  Author of the forthcoming book series “How to Get (and keep) What You Really, Really Want”.

About Shelley Mitchell, BA, ACC, CPM - My Personal Business Coach

FUN, FEARLESS, FOCUSED... Shelley is an expert in Entrepreneurial Coaching and her mission is in helping Smart, Driven, Creative Entrepreneurs get Un-Stuck, Un-Stressed and Out of Overwhelm so they can create their VISION, develop their PLAN, FOCUS on their PRIORITIES, and take ACTION to build their businesses, make more money and reach their dreams and goals. President/CEO of My Personal Business Coach LLC and My Personal ADHD Coach, Creator of the Right Brain Solution (productivity tools for creative entrepreneurs) and Author of the forthcoming Book Series "How to Get & Keep What you Really, Really Want". As a woman of many talents with a stellar success record of over 23 years starting and running small to multi-million dollar businesses, she understands how passion, drive, and commitment have made it possible to live her best life and how it has put her in a unique position, which allows her to serve her clients in extraordinary ways. Her formal education and certifications along with her vast experience make her one of the most unique and top business consultants/coaches in the country.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: What do I do when people want to exchang | Shelley Mitchell - My Personal Business Coach

Would love to hear your comments!

