Are we really as INDEPENDENT as we think we are?

Standard
sehlley-header.jpg
Are we really as “INDEPENDENT” as we think we are… especially as Business Owners…   

10531117_10204118600593648_1340959459_n.jpg

As I sit here enjoying this beautiful beach on Marco Island, Florida, celebrating my relaxing and romantic weekend for my anniversary and writing to you… my thoughts keep drifting as to what INDEPENDENCE really means.

As entrepreneurs or business owners, are we really as independent as we think? Or have we really just tied ourselves into another J-O-B having to endure one of the worst bosses or best bosses in the world? (Ourselves…..)

What does INDEPENDENCE mean to YOU? 

For me, INDEPENDENCE means that I am here, at Marco Island writing to you on the 4th of July because I want to and not because I have to. It also means being able to financially support my son as he embarks his college adventure, and I have the flexibility and the time to go visit him if and WHEN I really need to. I could not do that before. However, this word INDEPENDENCE also means that I am 100% fully responsible for the outcome of my company. (the GOOD, the BAD, the UGLY and the AMAZING) My Personal Business Coach has grown so much in the last year! Of course, I am grateful in more ways than I can even express. 

Moreover, this Independence Day, I reflect on this huge responsibility I have assumed as I grow my business and my team. As I wrote out checks to my team the other day I wondered,

  • do they feel that sense of “ownership” for the company like I do?
  • Do they stay up nights, weekends and all hours of the day thinking about the growth of the company and all the best interest of all clients we service?
  • Or do they simply clock out and go on with their lives like I sometimes did when I was employed by someone else?

I truly hope that the answer is the first one.  HOWEVER…..

As a business owner, we have to know that no one truly owns your company except for OURSELVES. Also, you have to always be willing to accept responsibility for the outcome of anything associated with you and your company. Even the culture you provide is the culture that the company and your team members are going to project into the world. (is this the “culture” you want to convey?)  I can say that I do have team members whose hearts are really in this and truly care about our clients as well.   

As a Business Coach, Consultant, Trainer and Speaker, INDEPENDENCE means that I am truly blessed to be able to be on this journey with so many amazing heart-centered entrepreneurs! Helping them grow their businesses,  their strengths and their passions into something profitable so they can also enjoy their lives is something most people only dream of. – and I get to do it every single day. 

On a personal level, Independence Day is a day we celebrate in this country but as anything of value, it comes at a price. (Thank you Debbie Wysocki for reminding me of this today.)

IN MEMORY OF – My former husband and my son’s father, Staff Sergeant Anthony Sessions, was 37 10528163_10204118621154162_585113466_n.jpgyears old when he passed away after serving 17 years in the military. He paid the price for us to have this Independence Day today just as so many Americans have done to pave the way for us.  Imjust finishing up the applications to the Veterans Administration for my son, Caleb, to be able to receive funding from some of the college fund that his dad was not able to use before his untimely death.

 

 shelley and shelley.jpgI also served in the U.S. Army and have two combat patches serving in Panama for Operation Just Cause, and in Saudi Arabia for Operation Desert Shield and Storm.  As a former Sergeant with 2 combat patches, now a Disabled veteran, I have strong feelings about days like July 4th.  Caleb’s dad and I discussed and agreed that we wanted Caleb to be able to go to college to pursue his education and not feel the pressure of enlisting in the military and that if Caleb decided to join the armed forces, he would do so on his own terms and his on time and not because of financial circumstances. 

(yes, that’s me on the left a looooong time and lbs. ago…)

My reasoning for INDEPENDENCE in my own business, all the while getting to do what I love to do, is for these very reasons. To be able to provide my son everything that his father and I wanted for him; the same things that were not provided or afforded to us when we were his age is a big motivator every morning especially when Im a little “tired” or worn-down. 

  I am very CLEAR what my “why” is.  Are you ?  It is what drives us on the days we fall down or the days we want to quit because things got “difficult.” 

  • What is your reason for independence?
  • What is your reason for being an entrepreneur and owning your own business?
  • What is your reason for celebrating today and the independence of our country?

I am not going to sugar coat it, owning your own business is not easy!

 However, the rewards are amazing! So sometimes the rewards are so amazing, in fact, that there is no number to put to them. Owning your own business and pursuing your vision and passion is something that is deep down inside of you and if you do not know what that is, you need to get very clear on what that really is. 

Why?  Well, the number one reason why businesses fail is because the visionary (owner) quits! They quit because they are not clear why they are doing it.  Sadly, they quit right before they are about to strike gold and never even know it. My reasons are very clear. Are yours?  They keep me going when I fall down. We all fall down btw! Im just willing to admit it. 🙂 and Im willing to keep getting back up and keep going.

Today I am grateful and celebrate the following in HONOR of

INDEPENDENCE DAY:10514823_10204113691470923_316412237_n.jpg

  •  My 4-year Anniversary with the man of my dreams – celebrating in paradise.
  •  My son achieving his dream of going to college and celebrating his first week in!! So far so good! 😉

10447062_10203916028369469_1621237486107608320_n.jpg

  • The AMAZING clients I have who I am blessed and honored to work with week-in and week-out, who also fall but never quit and continue to get right back up and grow continuously towards their dreams every single day.

(these are just some of our clients at our private quarterly VIP Catapult Day event)

  • OUR SOLDIERS! – Everyone who does and has served in the military. They have paved the way for us to celebrate Independence Day today in our country and allowing us the ability to be entrepreneurs if we choose to do so.

 

  • My team, who while they may fall down along with me, always get back up and keep the best interest of the company AND OUR CLIENTS at the top of their list!

 

  •  and last but NOT LEAST, Staff Sgt. Tony Sessions, whom I was married to for almost ten years and was the father of one of the most amazing sons a mom could ever want! He loved his son dearly till the day he died and I know that he is looking down from heaven so proud of10519273_10204118626794303_155629380_n.jpg our son.  I am so grateful for his military service where he earned educational benefits.  Unfortunately, he was not unable to use them because of his untimely death and hopefully, Caleb may be able to use that funding for his educational journey to reach his goals. (If anyone is aware of any nonacademic scholarships or grants for college students who are the children of deceased veterans or of disabled veterans, please let us know.) 

SO MANY THINGS to be GRATEFUL FOR and reasons to CELEBRATE OUR INDEPENDENCE~

So, please take a moment today and write out your reasons and then make it a point to thank those people you are grateful for. Whatever your reasons are for celebrating Independence Day and this weekend, please let those “reasons” know it. 

 Happy Independence Day and

Fourth of July Weekend! 

wishing you love success and fun<br /><br /><br /><br /><br />
shelley.jpg

 


something special.jpg

Something SPECIAL Just for YOU!

Are you trying to start a business or feel as if  you’re in the “never ending start up mode” because some pieces are missing? 

Do you have a business that you want to take to the next level but are unclear on your direction or cant get seem to get the right people, marketing or business plan,  and/or systems in place?

Is your business is causing you to be stressed,  stuck, and overwhelmed because you simply are not making the money you truly deserve or have a balance you want and need for your life? 

In HONOR of Independence Day, I am putting out an EXCLUSIVE INVITATION for you to

set an appointment for a complimentary 20-minute

“Business Freedom & Independence” Strategy Session

with one of my expert coaches.

In this session, we will help you to:

  • Get CLEAR as to what you REALLY WANT for your Business!
  • Identify some of the HIDDEN CHALLENGES that keep getting in your way from having what you really want
  • Create a PLAN on your next STEPS so you can get into ACTION and IMPLEMENT your plans and reach your GOALS!
  • Leave renewed and INSPIRED to be the INDEPENDENT entrepreneur you truly are!

We only have nine spots available left for the rest of this month, so this is first-come, first-serve basis and is entirely complimentary for you as someone whom I truly value and appreciate. 

(Once these spots are filled, we will put you want a waiting list for August if you choose to wait.)

<<Click here to go to the calendar>> and choose a time that works best for you to have that complimentary

“Business Freedom & Independence” Strategy Session

and discover some simple ways you can take back your independence today.

About Shelley Mitchell, BA, ACC, CPM - My Personal Business Coach

FUN, FEARLESS, FOCUSED... Shelley is an expert in Entrepreneurial Coaching and her mission is in helping Smart, Driven, Creative Entrepreneurs get Un-Stuck, Un-Stressed and Out of Overwhelm so they can create their VISION, develop their PLAN, FOCUS on their PRIORITIES, and take ACTION to build their businesses, make more money and reach their dreams and goals. President/CEO of My Personal Business Coach LLC and My Personal ADHD Coach, Creator of the Right Brain Solution (productivity tools for creative entrepreneurs) and Author of the forthcoming Book Series "How to Get & Keep What you Really, Really Want". As a woman of many talents with a stellar success record of over 23 years starting and running small to multi-million dollar businesses, she understands how passion, drive, and commitment have made it possible to live her best life and how it has put her in a unique position, which allows her to serve her clients in extraordinary ways. Her formal education and certifications along with her vast experience make her one of the most unique and top business consultants/coaches in the country.

Would love to hear your comments!

